About the University



Sohag University has a general strategic aim of qualifying its students for the national and regional labor market.

It also aims at preparing a generation of distinguished scientists and scholars.

The history of Sohag University began with the inauguration of faculty of education in 1971.

Then came the faculty of science, the faculty of arts, and faculty of medicine.

At this time Sohag University was a branch of Assuit University. When South Valley University was established in 1995 Sohag University became a branch of the new University

In 1992, Faculty of Medicine was established

In 1996 faculty of Agriculture was established.

Shortly after, President Mohamed Hosni Mubarak’s decree (No.129/ 2006) recognized Sohag University as an independent institution.

Faculties of Industrial Education and Nursing were added to the university.

Finally, in2008, a presidential decree of establishing Faculties of Engineering and Veterinary Medicine was issued, raising the number to ten faculties and gradually the number of faculties became 15 faculties.